Your Happy Nanny- Morgan Wilson

For the month of June we are featuring Morgan Wilson as Your Happy Nanny!  Morgan is looking for a full time nanny position and can begin immediately.  She has been a nanny for six years and is looking for a family she can work with long term.  Morgan has several certifications in newborn care but also loves working with toddlers and preschool age.  Morgan was one of our nannies who was an instrumental part in planning our National Nanny Training Day event this past April.  She is very dedicated to her profession as a nanny.  Take a look at Morgan's profile and let us know if you would like to interview Morgan!Screenshot_2014-06-29-12-53-51-1 What part of Atlanta do you live?

I am living in Cumming at the moment, but I am actively looking to relocate!

Where are you from originally? 

Being from a military family I have moved around quite a bit! I was born in North Carolina and have lived in Tennessee, Virginia, Washington DC,  Maryland, California, and Georgia. However, most of my extended family lives in Georgia so I have always considered Georgia home.

What language(s) do you speak?

I speak English, some French and know some basic sign language. I am still studying and perfecting my French, and have plans to learn Spanish and German in the near future!

How long have you been a nanny?

6 years and counting!

Do you have a favorite age and why? 

2-4. This has been the age I have the most experience with. I love it because you get to see the child's true personality really come in. This age is full of wonder and curiosity. As a nanny, I like to encourage that curiosity and aide the child in exploring the world around them.

Funniest nanny moment:

I recently had a 7 yr old charge who did not believe in "Elvis, the magical banjo player". She informed me that people who believed in Elvis were insane!

Favorite thing about being a nanny: 

I love my job. I really look forward to going to work every day. I come home and research new projects to do with the kids and have fun doing it! I am able to make an impact on a child's life and help teach them that they can do anything in life that they want to do. Every charge I've worked with has taught me something in return whether it be patience or how to do a new dance. I've grown as a person because of these kids!

What is your strongest quality as a nanny? 

From a child's perspective, I would have to say creativity! I am not at all a boring nanny. I always find new activities that are fun, educational, and engaging.

From a parent's perspective,  I would have to say consistency.  I believe the nanny/child relationship is so much better when we know what to expect from each other. I'm also a very schedule/detail oriented person and I am great at helping children get into a routine (morning, homework, potty training, etc).

Favorite place to bring children on an outing in Atlanta: 

So far, Morgan Falls Park has been my favorite place. There is a very nice and unique playground, hiking trails, there is a river, and an excellent picnic area!

Favorite activities to do with kids on a rainy day: 

I'm a big arts and crafts person to begin with, so rainy days are still so much fun to me! I might have my charges make some puppets and put on a puppet show, or read a book together and try to craft a character from the book. When the rain stops, it's always fun to throw on some rainboots and go splash in some puddles, or look for worms (if the child is into that!).

What is your educational background?

I am a Certified Nurse Assistant, Newborn Care Specialist, and Child Development Associate. I have also been trained in CPR, First Aid, AEO, and AED.

What do you like to do in your free time?

I love to read, draw, knit, spend time with family and friends, travel, stargaze, play card games, swim, and play softball. I hope to start archery and martial arts lessons soon as well!

When are you available to start a new position?

Second week of July!