Your Happy Nanny Atlanta December -- Loretta B.

Meet Loretta, our December Your Happy Nanny! Loretta is a warm, caring nanny who is on the hunt for her next family to work with longterm! She has experience working with premature infants, twins, and toddlers. She has even been a Pre-K teacher! Contact us today if you'd like to schedule an interview with Loretta!

Loretta Headshot.jpg

What part of Atlanta do you live in? Lithonia


Where are you from originally? I am originally from Atlanta.


What language(s) do you speak? I speak English, and I am learning Spanish.


How long have you been a nanny? I have been a nanny consistently for 6 years, but I have been in child care for over 20.


Do you have a favorite age and why? I love working with the early years, infants through 5 years old. As an early childhood educator, watching children make those milestones is so exciting. Learning to talk, walk, write, read etc.


Funniest nanny moment: My funniest moment as a nanny was when the twin girls I was keeping decided to sign the ABC song to me. I can do sign language ( I only do the basics and some songs). Their little faces were so serious as they moved their little hands. Then they started teaching me to do a song they made up! It was priceless.


Favorite thing about being a nanny: My favorite thing about being a nanny is having that special bond with the kids and parents. I love when I get to work and am greeted with excitement and love. I love doing outings and going on adventures.


What is your strongest quality as a nanny? My strongest quality as a nanny is my ability to help kids understand that parents leave for the day, but always come back. Even if you have been working with a child from birth, as they get older they can go through times of not wanting parents to leave for work. I reassure them that their parent will return, and I love to refer to the book Llama Llama Misses Mama! I keep that to read to them, and it really helps them with that period of their little lives.


Favorite place to bring children on an outing in Atlanta: I like going to Fernbank, the zoo, the aquarium and on nature walks. 

Favorite activities to do with kids on a rainy day: I like to do arts and crafts, baking, games, and go to indoor play lands.

What is your educational background? I have a BA in Business and an AA in business with a concentration in Information Systems. 


What do you like to do in your free time? In my free time I love to crochet. I mainly do Amigurumi. Crocheting animals, dolls, etc. I also make clothing items. Another thing I do is DIY furniture. My daughter and I go to thrift stores and buy old pieces to refinish. In the summer I love to plant a vegetable garden.


What special skills do you bring to a family as their nanny?
As a nanny I am a well rounded self starter. I am motivated and creative. I help infants and toddlers reach those special milestones. I can help with getting infants on schedules, toddler potty training, encouraging healthy eating choices, and organization. I also love to teach them letters, numbers, sounds, colors, etc. I run errands and do shopping if needed. My philosophy is, do all I can so when parents get home they will be able to spend that time with their kids instead of having to do a lot of stuff around the house. I am also a great from scratch baker and do meal prep.


When are you available to start a new position? Immediately