Your Happy Nanny Atlanta July -- Johnae M.

Your Happy Nest is pleased to announce that our Your Happy Nanny for the month of July is Johnae M! Johnae has 8 years of experience working as a professional nanny and has worked with children from infancy to 11 years old. She loves creating interesting activities to help children grow and learn and is currently looking for a new family to work with long term in the Atlanta area.  Contact us today to set up an interview with Johnae!

IMG_3120.jpeg

What part of Atlanta do you live in? I currently live in Smyrna, GA.


Where are you from originally? I am originally from Chicago, IL.


What language(s) do you speak? I speak English, with an interest in learning French.


How long have you been a nanny? I have been a nanny for the past 8 years.


Do you have a favorite age and why? My favorite age group to work with is Newborn to 5 years old. I like working with this age group because the children are still learning and soaking things up like sponges. So, their inquisitiveness helps mold their character and personality.


Funniest nanny moment: While driving back from the zoo, we were detoured because of construction on the main road through a neighborhood that had what seemed like a lot of speed bumps. My nanny kid asked what the workers were doing, and I told him they were fixing the roads. We went down a block that had more than 2 speed bumps, and he said, "This street is still sick. They need to come fix its ouchies and give it lots of kisses and cuddles. Do you want to stop and help the street?"


Favorite thing about being a nanny: My favorite thing about being a nanny, is everyday can be a new adventure for the nannies and the children. Every experience and memory the child has it what you make it.


What is your strongest quality as a nanny? I feel my strongest quality as a nanny is that I am very nurturing. I like to be able to provide a safe and stable environment for my nanny kids so that their parents and family know they can entrust in me to be sensitive to their child’s needs and development.

jmm.jpg
jm.jpg


Favorite place to bring children on an outing in Atlanta: Piedmont Park, and The Georgia Aquarium is becoming a favorite fast.


Favorite activities to do with kids on a rainy day: Building a fort, having an indoor picnic, and baking.


What is your educational background? I have some college education, and I hold an Esthetics and Esthetics Teacher License.


What do you like to do in your free time? In my free time, I like visiting art galleries and museums, visiting coffeeshops and brunch places around the city, cooking up new recipes, and spending time with my family and friends.


What special skills do you bring to a family as their nanny? As a nanny I like to think outside of the box and be creative with my nanny kids. I am well rounded, motivated, organized, and someone who is a self-starter. I am able to help with potty training, sleep schedules, meal planning, cooking, and advocating with activities that helps the children achieve developmental milestones for their ages.
 

When are you available to start a new position? Immediately!