Your Happy Nanny Cincinnati December -- Amanda Smith


Cincinnati's Your Happy Nanny is
Amanda Smith! 

What part of Cincinnati do you live in? I actually am located in Florence, KY, which is right across the bridge. Only 20 minutes away from downtown, Cincinnati!

Where are you from originally? I was born and raised in Florence, Kentucky!

What language(s) do you speak? English

How long have you been a nanny? I have been in childcare for 5+ years, and I have been a full time nanny for one summer. However, I am currently seeking my first full time long term nanny position!

Do you have a favorite age and why? I love all ages of children, but if I had to choose an age group it would be 1 year olds, because I just think they have the funniest personalities and I love their curiosity about the world.

Funniest nanny moment: My funniest childcare moment would be when I was watching 2 boys, and the oldest accidentally spilled his drink, and as I was trying to catch the cup before it actually spilled, I ended up knocking over my cup,  and his brother’s cup! Drinks went everywhere! The boys thought it was funny, it was quite the mess but I couldn’t help but laugh at the end of the day!

Favorite thing about being a nanny: My favorite thing about being a childcare provider is that I have the privilege to be a positive role model for others, and teach young minds about the world!

What is your strongest quality as a nanny? My strongest quality would be my ability to extreme multitask. In addition to childcare, I have been a server for the past 4 years, so I am able to do a lot of different things at one time, without becoming stressed out. I find this helpful with childcare because I can be doing things with the kids, and also make sure things are taken care of around the house.

Favorite place to bring children on an outing in Cincinnati: Although I haven’t taken children for outings yet in my nannying history, if I were to take them somewhere it would definitely be Totter's Otterville or the Museum Center, because it allows children to use their imagination while also learning!

Favorite activities to do with kids on a rainy day: I love having an arts and crafts “party” on a rainy day, making a bunch of things for their parents when they come home.

What is your educational background? I attended Thomas More College for roughly 3 years, I took some time off, but I am returning to college in the fall to finish my degree in Entrepreneurship with online and evening classes.

What do you like to do in your free time? In my free time I love to go to the movie theatre and watch any new movie that is out!

When are you available to start a new position? I am available to start as soon as possible!