Your Happy Nanny Atlanta August -- Jeanette Luna

Jeanette Luna Headshot.jpeg

Your Happy Nest Atlanta is so happy to introduce Jeanette Luna as our Your Happy Nanny for the month of August. The Columbus State University graduate has 3 years of professional nanny experience under her belt working with infants and toddlers. She loves incorporating her creativity and musical talent into her daily plans with her nanny kids. If you are looking for loving, laid back, and professional full-time nanny, than look no further than Jeanette! She is ready to begin her next longterm position at the end of the month! Contact us today if you'd like to schedule an interview!

What part of Atlanta do you live in? I live in Sandy Springs.

Where are you from originally?  I was born in California, but raised in and around Atlanta.

What language(s) do you speak? I speak English, Spanish and a little Italian.

How long have you been a nanny? I’ve been a nanny for three years.

Do you have a favorite age and why? This is a tough question, but I think infants to early toddlerhood are my favorite age. There’s something about the wonder in their eyes that just melts my heart.

Funniest nanny moment: One moment I can think of was when a little girl, maybe about 22months, discovered different voices. We’d play with her babies and she’d suddenly make her baby have a “deep voice.” Cracked me up!

Favorite thing about being a nanny:  My favorite thing about being a nanny is the relationship I create with children and their families. I am honored to be a part of the children’s lives and their upbringing.

What is your strongest quality as a nanny?  I think my strongest quality is creativity. I like planning outings that involve something fun and educational, whether it’s going to the library, storytime, a music class, or just going to the park! On a rainy day, I love improvising on the spot and coming up with fun arts and crafts to keep busy and have something special to show mommy and daddy when they come home.

Favorite place to bring children on an outing in Atlanta:  My favorite place has been Piedmont Park, especially if we have access to the Botanical Gardens. There are playgrounds, large grassy areas to have picnics, and being surrounded by trees and flowers is so calming to everyone. There’s so much to see, experience and appreciate.

Favorite activities to do with kids on a rainy day:  I like painting, coloring, turning up the music and being totally silly, playing with instruments or creating our own out of plastic containers and rice.

What is your educational background? I have a bachelor's degree in Music Performance from Columbus State University and did some graduate coursework at UNCG before completely pursuing nannying.  

What do you like to do in your free time? I like keeping busy. I’m no pro, but I love painting with acrylics. Lately, I’ve been teaching myself to crochet and play the ukulele. I also have a big interest in permaculture and self-sustainable gardening, because, well, save the world! I love being outdoors and taking hikes on the many trails in and around Atlanta.

What special skills do you bring to a family as their nanny? I bring care and compassion, an understanding of the importance of early childhood education, a knack for finding fun things to do, and reliability.

When are you available to start a new position? I am available beginning August 23rd.